CDContemporary Music Composers of Spain and Latin America

Chamber Music

Eddie Mora

Erasmo Solerti, violin Eddie Mora, violin-viola Orquídea Guandique, viola Cristian Guandique, violonchelo Fernando Zúñiga, piano Ekaterina Shátskaya, piano Alejandro Gutiérrez, trombone Ramonet Rodríguez, guitar Víctor Fonseca, percussion David Solano, percussion

Arts > Music and Opera

Despite his youth, belied by an indisputable creative maturity, Eddie Mora (San José de Costa Rica, 1965) has gained a place among the leading figures on the Latin American contemporary music scene. Trained at the Castella Conservatory and the University of Costa Rica’s School of Musical Arts, he subsequently moved to Moscow, where he lived from 1983 to 1992 perfecting his technique as a violinist and composer, returning in 2003 to complete his studies with Yuri Vorontsov.

Mora’s work stands out for its enormous conceptual and artistic breadth, evidenced in such impressive orchestral and vocal works as ‘Concierto para marimba y orquesta’ (1996), ‘Cantata’ (1998), based on poems by Federico García Lorca, or ‘Tres fragmentos orquestales’ (2006). His chamber music output is similarly diverse in its conception, and experiments with novel instrumental combinations of great chromatic beauty, from the expressive force of Fragmentos I para septeto to the more meditative passages of ‘Silencio I-IV’ or the versatility of ‘La niña y el viento’, a piece included here in its version for strings, synthesizer and piano, which was written for the Amighetti tribute premiered at Costa Rica’s National Theater in September 2008.

Performances by:
Erasmo Solerti (violin)
Eddie Mora (violin-viola)
Cristian Guandique (cello)
Fernando Zúñiga, Ekaterina Shátskaya (piano)
Alejandro Gutiérrez (trombone)
Ramonet Rodríguez (guitar)
Víctor Fonseca y David Solano (percussion)


CD Audio:
1. Fragmentos I para septeto (10:27)
2. Fragmentos II para guitarra (5:00)
3-4. Retrato V5. Habanera y dos preludios (9:14)
5. Silencio I (5:43)
6. Silencio II (7:53)
7-8. Silencio III (9:20)
9. Silencio IV (11:28)
10. La niña y el viento (6:46)

Total time: 66:47